How to Connect a Voice Application to Your Call

Bright Pattern Documentation

Generated: 12/03/2021 12:17 am
Content is available under license unless otherwise noted.

How to Use the Directory

You can make calls to the users and contacts registered in your contact center directory by selecting them from the Directory tab. The directory will typically provide contacts of users in your organization grouped by teams. It may also contain external contacts. For internal contacts, the directory also provides information about their current availability to communicate.

To view directory contacts, click the Directory tab. The directory will initially list all teams configured in your contact center. External contacts will also be organized in folders. To see contacts of members of a particular team or folder, click the arrow icon next to its name.

You can also search for a contact by typing the contact name or number in the search field that you see above the list of contacts. As you type, only the matching contacts will remain visible in the directory.


Directory


Display Icons

For each contact, the directory will display the name and phone number. For users, the directory will also display icons indicating their current availability to communicate. The icons have the following meanings.


Available

Agent-guide-image5.PNG

The user is at the desk and is not on a phone call.

Away

Agent-guide-image38.PNG

The user is logged in but is likely to be away from the desk at the moment. This status is assigned automatically if no computer activity has been detected for the last 15 minutes. As soon as some activity is detected, the user is automatically switched to status Available. This status does not prevent you from attempting to contact the user.


Do Not Disturb

Agent-guide-image6.PNG

The user has manually set the status indicating the desire not to be contacted at the moment. This status does not prevent you from attempting to contact the user.


On the Phone

Agent-guide-image39.PNG

The user is currently on a phone call. This status is assigned automatically when the user makes or answers a phone call. This status applies to users busy with phone calls only; status Available will be displayed for users who handle interactions of any other media types.


Logged out

Agent-guide-image40.PNG

The user is currently logged out.

Placing a Call From the Directory

To call a number from the directory, follow these steps.

  1. Select the contact you wish to call. The contact’s number will appear in the Number Input Field.
  2. If necessary, select the service as described in section How to Make an Outbound Call.
  3. Click the Initiate call button.



How to Host a Conference

A conference is a portion of a call where three or more parties can talk to each other simultaneously. You become a conference host when you connect a third participant to your regular two-party call.

There are two ways to connect a third participant to your two-party call: via a consultation call or single-step conference.

Connecting Via Consultation Call

To connect a third party via a consultation call, follow these steps:

  1. Place your original call on hold and make a consultation call to the desired third party. See How to Make a Consultation Call for more information.
  2. After making sure that the consultation party is willing to participate in the conference, click the Merge button Merge-Button-50.png. (If you have two or more calls on hold, you will be asked to confirm whether you wish to conference all held calls with the consultation party.) Upon clicking the Merge button, all three parties will be able to talk to each other.

Note: If you change your mind about conferencing the primary call with the consultation party, then instead of using the Merge button, click the End Call button to finish the consultation call. Then click the Retrieve button to retrieve the primary call from hold and continue the conversation.


Merge button


Connecting Via Single-Step Conference

To connect a third party via a single-step conference, follow these steps:

  1. Without placing the original call on hold, enter the number of the desired third party in the 'Number Input Field (or select it from Directory, Recent, or Favorites).
  2. Click the drop-down icon next to the Initiate call button, and select the Initiate single-step conference button Initiate-Conference-Call-50.png.
  3. The dialing will begin immediately. Both you and the other party currently on the call will be able to monitor the progress of the dial attempt and engage in a three-party conversation as soon as the third party answers.

Note: If you have a call on hold prior to using the Initiate single-step conference button, it will not be connected to the dial attempt. Instead, a regular two-way call will be initiated to the desired number, while the original call will remain on hold. This is done to prevent the accidental merging of unrelated calls.


Single-step conference button


You can connect more than one party to your conference following the aforementioned procedures. All conference participants will be displayed in the Contact Info Panel.

Note that any other internal party connected to your conference will be able to add more participants to this conference. However, regardless of the number of participants or who connected them, you will continue to be the host of the conference call because you were the one who set up the original three-way conference.

Disconnecting

As the conference host, you have the following exclusive privileges: you can disconnect any individual participant from your conference at any time, and you can end the conference call for all participants in one step.

To disconnect an individual participant, hover over the participant’s name in the Contact Info Panel, and click the disconnect icon End-Call-Button-50.png that will appear next to the participant's name.

To end the conference call for all participants in one step, click the End conference button End-Call-Button-50.png

Other participants can leave your conference at any time. You can only leave your own conference when it has three participants. To leave your conference, click the Leave button Leave-Button-50.png. You will be disconnected while the two remaining parties will carry on with a regular two-way call.

Note: When you connect a third party via a single-step conference function, all of the discussed conference controls become available to you as soon as the dialing begins. Thus, for example, you can leave the call without waiting for the third-party to answer.