Chat Center

Bright Pattern Documentation

Generated: 12/04/2021 5:16 am
Content is available under license unless otherwise noted.

Chat Center Tutorials

The Chat Center allows you to send and receive messages to individual users or to groups in your contact center. We call these types of chat interactions personal chats. The chat interactions that you have with customers are called service chats.

Articles



How to Use Personal Chat

At any time during your working session, you can send a Personal Chat message to your supervisor or another member of your team. The use of Personal Chat does not affect your operations with service interactions in any way.


Overview of Personal Chat


How to Send Personal Chat Messages

There are two ways to send Personal Chat messages:

  1. From within the Directory
  2. From the Personal Chats section of the Chat Center.


From the Directory


Chat from within the Directory while working in other areas


From the Chat Center

Choose Select from Directory



Select the user to initiate chat



Additional Features of Personal Chat


Starring a Message

It is possible to bookmark important, individual messages within a chat by clicking the Star Personal-Chat-Star-50.PNG icon. When you star a message, it becomes pinned to the area right of the chat in the Chat Center. Please note: You can only star received messages, not sent ones.


To star a message, follow these steps:

  1. Find the message.
  2. Click the Star Personal-Chat-Star-50.PNG.
  3. The star will have changed from a light color Personal-Chat-Star-50.PNG to a dark color Personal-Chat-Marked-Star-50.PNG.


From here, you will see the starred message appear in the area to the right of the chat.


Example of a starred message


When you click on the starred message, it will act as a shortcut, bringing the message to the top of the chat area.


Starred messages act as bookmarks within a Personal Chat



How to Use Group Chat

The Group Chat feature allows agents, supervisors, and other users to chat within your contact center. Many features of Group Chat are similar to Internal Chat and Service Chat; however, Group Chat is not for chatting with individual users or customers.

For more information on Internal Chat, see How to Use Internal Chat. For more information on Service Chat, see sections about Handling Service Chats.


Overview of Group Chat

How to Access Group Chat

Group Chat is accessible through the Chat Center. To access the Chat Center, click on the Group-Chat-Call-Center-Icon-50.PNG icon. To initiate a Group Chat, click Create New Group (this is the + icon to the right of #Groups).


How to create a new Group Chat

Renaming a Group Chat

The default Group Chat channel name is #New Chat Group. To rename a Group Chat, click in the #New Chat Group field and type the new name. When you are finished, click anywhere outside of the field and the new name will save.


Edit the name of a Group Chat to stay organized


Managing Group Chat Members

When you have created a Group Chat, you have the ability to add and remove members. Furthermore, any member in a Group Chat can Invite additional members.


Adding Group Chat Members

To add members to the new chat group, follow these steps:

  1. Click the + icon in the Invite area of the Chat Center.
  2. The pop-up directory Select Agent for Chat will appear. Use the search bar at the top of the directory or scroll down the list to find a user.
  3. Click on the user you would like to add to your Group Chat and then click Select. Members may be added one at a time.


Selected members will be highlighted


Removing Group Chat Members

While anyone in a Group Chat can invite additional users, the creator of the group can remove any or all specific members. Additionally, any user can remove themself from a chat.

To remove a member from the chat Group, click the X icon to the right of their name.


How to remove Group Chat members


To remove yourself from a group, click the X to the right of any Group Chat.


How to remove yourself from a Group Chat


If you removed yourself from a group you did not create, the creator can Invite you again and all previous messages can be viewed. If you are the creator of a Group Chat and delete it, the group will be removed for all users.


Messaging and Notifications

Once you have created or are added to a Group Chat, you can send and receive messages regardless of of your state (e.g. Ready, Not Ready, Supervising, etc.). To send a message, type in the Text Input Area area, then press the Enter key or click on the Send the messageGroup-Chat-Send-Message-50.PNG icon.


Example of a Group Chat


If you have been active in another chat or even logged out of Agent Desktop, when you return you will see the number of missed messages next to a given group.


Numeric display of missed messages from the "CSR Group Chat"


Adding Attachments in Group Chat

This feature is reserved for future use.